Peace – How can I help create it in the world?

Hello Earth Angels

Tumultuous times call for courageous actions if we are to create a world that is peaceful and harmonious – how do we do that in our world of disharmony, war, inhumanity and fear?

I have for many years been of the opinion that peace begins within and that it is our personal mission to work and create peace at this level first as well as spending time, effort and energy working on the outside world.

As we move forward to the International Day of Peace (Wednesday 21 September) each year I take my individual ‘peace audit’. This is to see how peaceful I am being in the world. I do this because I am at the centre of change and while I may be able to influence people I cannot change them – but I can change me and so I start with myself.

If there is to be peace in the world,
There must be peace in the nations.
If there is to be peace in the nations,
There must be peace in the cities.
If there is to be peace in the cities,
There must be peace between neighbors.
If there is to be peace between neighbors,
There must be peace in the home.
If there is to be peace in the home,
There must be peace in the heart.

Lao Tzu

Many years ago now I read these famous and often quoted words and thought what can I do?

And so began my personal ‘peace audit.’

In the aspects of my world – inner and outer I give myself a mark out of 10.

For each sector I ask

‘ How much peace do I feel with this part of my life?’

The sectors I question are:

1) intimate relationships

2) family and friends

3) career and colleagues

4) money, prosperity and assets

5) reputation and recognition

6) health, physical, mental and emotional

7) creative expression or time for hobbies and fulfilment

8) spiritual balance  – religion if you are part of one

9) community

Once I have got my marks out of 10 – I choose the one I scored the least in and ask the following:

‘What action can I take today and for the next month

to make an improvement to peace within me?’

Sometimes it may be as simple as breathe more deeply or get 8 hours sleep a day or smile more at my neighbours.

Sometimes it is about doing a project that will add value to the community I live in – like helping to create jobs, or making others aware for the need to smile more as an action we can take to create peace.

It also can mean joining or supporting an organisation that supports peace.

For those of you who do not know me well – I promote and support Peace x Peace. You can find out more about them here: www.peacexpeace.org

What are you doing to promote peace in your world?

Why not take the ‘peace-audit’ and see where that action takes you – your angels will prompt you to take the necessary action – be assured of that.

 

Bless-sings

Melody

 

Leave a Reply

